Yale University logo
  • Стоимость:
  • Местные: $ 52.2тыс. / one year
  • Иностранцы: n/a
  • Язык обучения:
  • Английский
  • Дедлайн:
  • 25 января 2016
  • StudyQA рейтинг:
  • 2241pts.
  • Длительность:
  • 1 год

    Фотогалерея / #yale

    В области восточноазиатских исследований (EAS) студенты сосредотачиваются на стране или области в Восточной Азии и концентрируют свою работу на гуманитарных или социальных науках. Майор предлагает гуманитарное образование, которое служит отличной подготовкой к учебе в аспирантуре или к деловой и профессиональной карьере, для которой необходимо понимание Восточной Азии.

    EAS относительно невелик: обычно 20-25 человек старшего возраста, и как 20 юниоров, многие из которых являются двойными. При поступлении в специальность ожидается, что студенты составят интеллектуально последовательную последовательность курсов в консультации с директором бакалавриата (ссылка отправляет по электронной почте) (DUS) в EAS. Студенты продолжают консультироваться с DUS каждый семестр на протяжении всего курса обучения. Студенты также, как можно скорее, идентифицируют и консультируются с консультантом факультета в своей области специализации.

    Основное направление EAS состоит из 13 семестровых курсов, в том числе как минимум 6 семестровых кредитов на курс восточноазиатского языка и 7 курсов области, в том числе эссе. Обязательным условием для получения степени является завершение начального уровня II восточноазиатского языка, преподаваемого в Йельском университете или эквивалентного ему.

    Поскольку EAS является междисциплинарным, студенты обычно выбирают классы из широкого спектра дисциплин. Совет факультета предлагает занятия на кафедрах антропологии, восточноазиатских языков и Литература, экономика, история, история искусства, политология, религиоведение и социология. EAS использует ресурсы других факультетов и программ Университета, и студентам предлагается изучать предложения других факультетов, а также семинары для колледжей для дополнительных соответствующих курсов по гуманитарным и общественным наукам. Предлагаемый курс обучения должен быть одобрен DUS.


    Требования для иностранных студентов в США

    Каждый университет в Соединенных Штатах Америки устанавливает собственные стандарты приема, таким образом, не существует единых критериев для всех студентов, и только университет может решить, какие абитуриенты соответствуют требованиям, а какие - нет. Плата за каждую заявку составляет от $35 to $100.  

    После выбора университетов, в которые вы хотите подать документы стоит связаться с ними для подачи заявок и получения дополнительной информации о поступлении для иностранных студентов. Кроме того, при выборе программ магистратуры и докторантуры стоит обратить особое внимание на требования к поступающим. Некоторые программы требуют, чтобы вы отправили заявку на их факультет.

    Решение о зачислении принимается на основании академической успеваемости абитуриента и результатах различных тестов, таких как TOEFL, SAT или ACT (для программ бакалавриата) и GRE или GMAT (для программ магистратуры). Оно также зависит от академических результатов и мотивации.


    Требования программы

    <Р> Предпосылка. Завершение начального уровня II (L2) восточноазиатского языка, преподаваемого в Йельском университете или эквивалентного языка

    . Средний уровень II (L4) восточноазиатского языка и один год углубленного изучения (L5) с чтением на языке (6 кредитов)

    Все специальности, независимо от завершенной предыдущей курсовой работы, должны получить 6 кредитов языковые занятия. В некоторых случаях продвинутые студенты могут начать работать на втором (или третьем) восточноазиатском языке.

    Ширина. По крайней мере, один курс (но не более двух) с акцентом на Восточную Азию за пределами страны или в районе концентрации (1 кредит)

    Предмодерн По крайней мере, один курс, который ориентирован в первую очередь на досовременную эпоху страны или области концентрации (1 кредит)

    Китай: до 1600 г.
    Япония: до середины 19-го века
    Корея: до середины 19-го века
    Дисциплинарная направленность

    Как минимум два семинара (но не семинары для новичков) по смежным предметам, в идеале о том же регионе и в той же дисциплине, которые помогут студентам сформулировать тему старшего эссе (2 или более кредитов). Требуется одобрение DUS.

    Дополнительные курсы. Курсы, посвященные стране или области концентрации в дисциплинарной области концентрации (2 или более кредитов)

    Старшее эссе. Все студенты должны соответствовать требованиям старшего возраста, принятым в течение старшего года (1 кредит).

    Программа отказа от платы

    Право на участие - для того, чтобы запросить отказ от платы, вы должны

    • быть гражданином США или постоянным жителем США (граждане США не являются имеет право подать заявку на освобождение от уплаты пошлин).
    • Участвовать в определенных программах стипендий или получать определенные стипендиальные фонды.
    • Посетить указанное мероприятие по набору персонала Высшей школы искусств и Науки или одна из программ, которые спонсируют такое мероприятие и имеют предварительно закодированную форму запроса об освобождении от платы.
    • Подать заявку в качестве заявителя с продемонстрированными финансовыми трудностями.

    Призы
    Приз Уильямса в исследованиях Восточной Азии был учрежден в 1961 году Элизабет Уильямс Гарстин, Б.Ф. 1925, и профессор Кеннет Скотт Латуретт, Б.А. 1906, в честь профессора Сэмюэля Уэллса Уильямса, М.А. Хон. 1877, и профессор Фредерик Уэллс Уильямс, Б.А. 1879, M.A. Hon. 1924 год.

    Размер стипендии 2500 $.

    Похожие программы:
    Смотреть все похожие программы (43)

Yale University logo
  • Tuition Fee:
  • Local: $ 52.2k / one year
  • Foreign: n/a
  • Languages of instruction:
  • English
  • Deadline:
  • 25 January 2016
  • StudyQA ranking:
  • 2213pts.
  • Duration:
  • 1 year

    Photos of university

    In the East Asian Studies (EAS) major, students focus on a country or an area within East Asia and concentrate their work in the humanities or the social sciences. The major offers a liberal education that serves as excellent preparation for graduate study or for business and professional careers in which an understanding of East Asia is essential.

    EAS is relatively small: usually 20-25 seniors, and as many as 20 juniors, many of whom are double majors. Upon entering the major, students are expected to draw up an intellectually coherent sequence of courses in consultation with the Director of Undergraduate Studies (link sends e-mail) (DUS) in EAS. Students continue to consult with the DUS each term throughout their course of study. Students also, as soon as possible, identify and consult with a faculty adviser in their area of specialization.

    The EAS major consists of 13 term courses, including at least 6 term credits in an East Asian language course, and 7 area courses, including the senior essay. Prerequisite to the major is the completion of elementary level II of an East Asian language taught at Yale or the equivalent.

    As EAS is interdisciplinary, students typically select classes from a wide variety of disciplines. Council faculty offer classes in the departments of Anthropology, East Asian Languages & Literatures, Economics, History, History of Art, Political Science, Religious Studies, and Sociology.  EAS draws on the resources of other departments and programs in the University, and students are encouraged to examine the offerings of other departments, as well as residential college seminars, for additional relevant courses in both the humanities and the social sciences. The proposed course of study must be approved by the DUS.


    USA requirements for international students

    Each university in the Unites States of America sets its own admission standards so there isn't the same criteria for all the students and the university can decide which applicants meet those standards. The fee for each application is between $35 to $100. 

    After the selections of the universities you want to attend, the best of all would be to contact each university for an application form and more admission information for the international students. Moreover, for a graduate or postgraduate program it's necessary to verify the admission requirements. Some programs require that you send your application directly to their department. 

    Admissions decisions are based on students's academic record and different test scores, such as TOEFL, the SAT or ACT (for undergraduate programs) and GRE or GMAT (for graduate programs). Admission decision is based on your academic results and motivation.


    University requirements


    Program requirements

    Prerequisite. Completion of elementary level II (L2) of an East Asian language taught at Yale or the equivalent

    Language. Intermediate level II (L4) of an East Asian language and one year of advanced study (L5) with readings in the language (6 credits) 

    All majors, regardless of previous coursework completed, must take 6 credits of language classes.  In some cases, advanced students may choose to start work on a second (or third) East Asian language.

    Breadth. At least one course (but not more than two) with focus on East Asia outside of the country or area of concentration (1 credit)

    Pre-modern. At least one course which focuses primarily on the pre-modern era of the country or area of concentration (1 credit)

    China: before 1600
    Japan: before the mid-19th century
    Korea: before the mid-19th century
    Disciplinary Focus

    At least two seminars (but not freshman seminars) on related subjects, ideally about the same region and in the same discipline, which will help students to formulate the senior essay topic (2 or more credits). DUS approval required.

    Additional Courses. Courses focusing on the country or area of concentration in the disciplinary area of concentration (2 or more credits)

    Senior Essay. All students must satisfy a senior requirement undertaken during the senior year (1 credit).

    Fee Waiver Program

    Eligibility - in order to request a fee waiver you must

    • Be a U.S. citizen or a U.S. permanent resident (Non-U.S. citizens are not eligible to apply for a fee waiver).
    • Be a participant in certain fellowship programs or recipient of certain fellowship funds.
    • Have attended a specified recruitment event of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences or one of the programs sponsoring such an event and have a pre-coded Fee Waiver Request form.
    • Be applying as an applicant with demonstrated financial hardship.

    Prizes
    The Williams Prize in East Asian Studies was established in 1961 by Elizabeth Williams Garstin, B.F.A. 1925, and Professor Kenneth Scott Latourette, B.A. 1906, in honor of Professor Samuel Wells Williams, M.A. Hon. 1877, and Professor Frederick Wells Williams, B.A. 1879, M.A. Hon. 1924.

    Stipend amounts 2500 $.

     

    Similar programs:
    University of Chicago logo
    • Tuition Fee:
    • International students: $ 38.5k / Year (International)
      Yale University logo
      • Tuition Fee:
      • Domestic students: $ 63.3k / one year
      • Ranking:
      • 2310 StudyQA
      • Duration:
      • 1 year
        Yale University logo
        • Tuition Fee:
        • Domestic students: $ 63.3k / one year
        • Ranking:
        • 2180 StudyQA
        • Duration:
        • 2 years
          See all of the 43 similar programs