Фотогалерея / #imperialcollege

Сплавы выбраны за их отличную коррозионную стойкость и хорошие механические свойства при повышенных температурах в этих сложных условиях. Тем не менее, необходимо работать, чтобы понять SCC как такие факторы, как микроструктура, механические свойства и остаточные напряжения, влияющие на производительность. Мы будем изучать методы измерения локализованных остаточных напряжений и эволюции микроструктуры во время их изготовления и использования.

Металлы широко используются для несущих нагрузок в сложных средах, например, в комплексе ядерных реакторов. Чтобы продлить срок службы реактора и расширить возможности ядерной энергетики в устойчивом производстве энергии, мы должны понимать их эффективность в течение длительного времени в этих суровых условиях. Сложные формы формирования и обработки используются для сопоставления и связи их с другими компонентами. В этих процессах вводятся пластическая деформация и остаточные упругие напряжения, которые могут со временем влиять на их характеристики. Одним из способов разрушения является коррозионное растрескивание под напряжением. Чтобы предсказать инкубационный период для возникновения и роста трещин, необходимо измерить степень пластической деформации в материалах и оценить другие микроструктурные факторы.

Сплавы выбраны за их отличную коррозионную стойкость и хорошие механические свойства при повышенных температурах в этих сложных условиях. Тем не менее, необходимо работать, чтобы понять SCC как такие факторы, как микроструктура, механические свойства и остаточные напряжения, влияющие на производительность. Мы будем изучать методы измерения локализованных остаточных напряжений и микроструктурной эволюции при их изготовлении и использовании. Это будет включать экспериментальные инструменты, такие как цифровая корреляция изображений, механические испытания, дифракция рентгеновских лучей и дифракция обратного рассеяния электронов, а также использование инструментов моделирования, таких как метод конечных элементов. Эта работа поможет разработать оптимизированный метод термической обработки после сварки для сварных швов Alloy 600 - Alloy 600, среди прочего, количественную оценку влияния термической обработки после сварки на остаточное напряжение и, как следствие, восприимчивость SCC к SCC. сварные швы.


Требования для иностранных студентов в Великобритания

У университетов Великобритании централизованная система приема студентов - Служба приема в университеты и колледжи (UCAS). Через нее подают заявления как местные, так и иностранные студенты. Перед подачей заявки необходимо зарегистрироваться на сайте UCAS и вам предоставят всю необходимую информацию о системе приема. Для поступления на программы аспирантуры в большинстве случаев нужно напрямую обратиться в университет. Некоторые вузы принимают заявки через Common App (информацию о нем можно найти на сайтах учебных организаций).

Абитуриенты всех уровней образования могут получить три вида ответов от университетов. Первое, «безусловное предложение» означает, что вы выполнили все требования и можете быть приняты в университет. Второй вариант, «условное предложение», делает ваше поступление возможным, если вы соответствуете некоторым критериям - например, иметь хорошие оценки на выпускных экзаменах. Третий вариант - «неуспешная заявка» означает, что вы, к сожалению, не можете быть приняты в выбранный вами университет.

Все университеты требуют личное заявление, которое включает причины для получения образования в Великобритании и информацию о личных и академических целях, а также транскрипт оценок из предыдущего места обучения


Требования программы

Кандидаты должны иметь или ожидать получить хорошую степень первого или высшего второго класса (или эквивалентную) в области материаловедения, физики, химии или техники. Этот проект хорошо подходит для мотивированного студента, увлеченного механикой и характеристиками. Вы также должны иметь отличные коммуникативные навыки, в том числе доказанную способность писать на английском языке.

<Р>

Проект частично финансируется Rolls-Royce Nuclear UTC. Для тех, кто соответствует критерию того, что он обычно проживал в Великобритании в течение трех лет, обучение будет покрывать плату за обучение плюс стандартная стипендия на содержание в размере 15 863 £ в год.

Похожие программы:
Смотреть все похожие программы (8)

Imperial College London logo
  • Tuition Fee:
  • Local: n/a
  • Foreign: n/a
  • Languages of instruction:
  • English
  • Deadline:
  • 31 January 2016

    Photos of university

    Alloys are selected for their excellent corrosion resistance and good mechanical properties at elevated temperatures in these difficult environments. Yet work must be done to understand SCC as factors such as microstructure, mechanical properties, and residual stresses impact performance. We will study methods of measuring localised residual stresses and microstructural evolution during their fabrication and use.

    Metals are widely used for load bearing applications in complex environments, such as within a nuclear reactor complex. To extend life of the reactor and extend nuclear power capabilities in sustainable energy generation, we must understand their performance over long times in these harsh environments. Complex shape forming and machining are used to match and link them to other components. In these processes, plastic strain and residual elastic stresses are introduced which can impact on their performance over time. One mode of failure is stress corrosion cracking. In order to predict the incubation period for crack initiation and growth, it is necessary to measure the degree of plastic strain in materials and assess other microstructural factors.

    Alloys are selected for their excellent corrosion resistance and good mechanical properties at elevated temperatures in these difficult environments. Yet work must be done to understand SCC as factors such as microstructure, mechanical properties, and residual stresses impact performance. We will study methods of measuring localised residual stresses and microstructural evolution during their fabrication and use. This will involve experimental tools such as digital image correlation, mechanical testing, X-ray diffraction and electron backscatter diffraction, as well as use of modelling tools such as the finite element method. The work will help develop an optimised post-weld heat treatment method for the Alloy 600 to Alloy 600 welds, among others, quantifying the influence of the post-weld heat treatments on the residual stress, and as a result, the SCC susceptibility of the welds.


    UK requirements for international applications

    Universities in the United Kingdom use a centralized system of undergraduate application: University and College Admissions Service (UCAS). It is used by both domestic and international students. Students have to register on the UCAS website before applying to the university. They will find all the necessary information about the application process on this website. Some graduate courses also require registration on this website, but in most cases students have to apply directly to the university. Some universities also accept undergraduate application through Common App (the information about it could be found on universities' websites).

    Both undergraduate and graduate students may receive three types of responses from the university. The first one, “unconditional offer” means that you already reached all requirements and may be admitted to the university. The second one, “conditional offer” makes your admission possible if you fulfill some criteria – for example, have good grades on final exams. The third one, “unsuccessful application” means that you, unfortunately, could not be admitted to the university of you choice.

    All universities require personal statement, which should include the reasons to study in the UK and the information about personal and professional goals of the student and a transcript, which includes grades received in high school or in the previous university.


    University requirements


    Program requirements

    Applicants should have or expect to obtain a good first or upper second class degree (or equivalent) in Materials Science, Physics, Chemistry or Engineering. This project is well suited to a self-motivated student, with a keen interest in mechanics and characterisation techniques. You should also have excellent communication skills including proven ability to write in English.

     

    The project is part-funded by Rolls-Royce Nuclear UTC. For those meeting the criterion of having been ordinarily resident in the UK for three years the studentship will cover tuition fees plus the standard maintenance stipend of £15,863 per annum. 

    Similar programs:
    University of Bristol logo
    • Tuition Fee:
    • Domestic students: $ 18.2k / Year
    • International students: $ 29.5k / Year
      University of Glasgow logo
      • Tuition Fee:
      • Domestic students: $ 8.93k / Year
      • International students: $ 23.9k / Year
        Imperial College London logo
        • Tuition Fee:
        • Domestic students: $ 13.1k / 2015 cohort
        • International students: $ 35.6k / 2015 cohort
        • Ranking:
        • 1424 StudyQA
        • Duration:
        • 1 year
          Napier University logo
          • Tuition Fee:
          • Domestic students: $ 4.86k / Year
          • International students: $ 16.2k / Year
            Brunel University Uxbridge logo
            • Tuition Fee:
            • Domestic students: $ 10.2k / Year
            • International students: $ 21k / Year
              See all of the 27 similar programs