Имперский колледж Лондон logo
  • Стоимость:
  • Местные: $ 13.7тыс. / 2015/16 academic year
  • Иностранцы: $ 38.3тыс. / 2015/16 academic year
  • Язык обучения:
  • Английский
  • StudyQA рейтинг:
  • 2075pts.
  • Длительность:
  • 1 год

    Please ensure that you make your application for these courses as early as possible, particularly if you are intending to apply for funding, and preferably by 30 July (overseas/EU applicants) or 1 September (UK applicants) to avoid disappointment.

    Фотогалерея / #imperialcollege

    Катализатор лежит в основе огромного спектра современных химических превращений. От производства уксусной кислоты в мегатоннах до полимеров, которые мы используем для производства пластмасс, для автомобильных каталитических нейтрализаторов, до ключевых этапов фармацевтического синтеза - влияние катализа на нашу повседневную жизнь огромно.

    Такие компании, как BP, INEOS, Sasol, Johnson Matthey, Pfizer, AstraZeneca, имеют научно-исследовательские центры в Великобритании. Исследователи из многих из этих компаний предоставят обучающие элементы этого курса, и поэтому у студентов будет возможность учиться и общаться с будущими работодателями из первых рук.

    Обучение, предлагаемое этим курсом в ведущем международном учебном заведении, откроет для наших студентов различные варианты международной карьеры, будь то в рамках программы PhD или в отрасли.

    Катализ традиционно подразделяют на однородные (основанные на растворах), гетерогенные (границы раздела твердое тело-жидкость, твердое тело-газ) и инженерные дисциплины. Однако это различие становится все более размытым, поэтому этот курс MRes направлен на то, чтобы предоставить студентам последовательный обзор этих областей.

    Студенты закончат курс с обширной базой знаний в этой области, им также будет предложено разработать свои собственные идеи о том, как сосредоточить академические и промышленные исследования для решения насущных проблем в области катализа.

    Программа предлагается только в качестве очного одногодичного курса и ведет к получению степени MRes. Студенты начинают свою лекционную программу с основных курсов, охватывающих первый семестр (октябрь-декабрь) и второй семестр (январь-март). Преподаваемые курсы оцениваются экзаменами в январе и мае. Во втором семестре студенты также участвуют в журнальных клубах. В октябре студенты выбирают 9-месячный (декабрь-август) междисциплинарный исследовательский проект. В конце ноября они представляют исследовательское предложение по теме своего исследования, а в сентябре - диссертацию и устную презентацию. В середине сентября проводится вива по теме исследования.

    Год первый:
    Первый термин: студенты выбирают исследовательский проект из списка одностраничных тезисов (обычно около 40) после обсуждения с преподавателями в течение первых двух недель курса. В каждом исследовательском проекте есть два руководителя, каждый из разных академических дисциплин (обычно один из химии и один из инженерии или материалов). Под руководством своих руководителей студенты пишут исследовательское предложение для представления в конце семестра. В этом семестре студенты начинают программу преподаваемых лекций, которая охватывает как основные, так и дополнительные темы. В общей сложности студенты охватывают 4 основных темы (эквивалентно 5 курсам по длине, так как один считается двойным) и 2 факультативных темы. Основная тема, которую преподают в этом термине, это: • Инженерия каталитической реакции с выбранными лекциями (всего 24) из: CE2-04-02 Инженерная реакция I (д-р Marcos Millan-Agorio), CE3-02 Инженерная реакция II (д-р Clemens Brechtelsbauer) , CE4-20 Разработка фармацевтического процесса (д-р Andreas Kogelbauer, д-р Clemens Brechtelsbauer, д-р Frantisek Stepanek, г-н Richard Escott). Этот курс удвоит кредит курса химии и будет продолжен до второго семестра. Дополнительные темы: • 4.I5 Современные применения неорганической химии в промышленности - 8 лекций, сотрудники химической промышленности, организованные доктором Мими Хии • 4.I10 Зеленая химия - 10 лекций, профессор Шарлотта Уильямс

    Второй семестр: студенты продолжают свои лекционные курсы по основным курсам: • 4.18 Катализ палладия в органическом синтезе - 8 лекций, д-р Мими Хии • 4.O10 Каталитический асимметричный синтез - 8 лекций, д-р Крис Кордиер и д-р Хорди Буре • 4. O23 Кинетика катализа - 8 лекций, д-р Jordi Burés Также доступны четыре дополнительных факультативных курса для студентов: 4.I11 Зеленые растворители - 8 лекций, профессор Том Уэлтон (проверено в эссе - не в условиях экзамена) 4. I6 Ультразвук и микроволны для химического синтеза - 8 лекций, д-р Ликисс 4.I7 Неорганическая химия с компьютерами, а не химическими веществами - 8 лекций, д-р Триша Хант 3.I3 Неорганические механизмы и катализ - 9 лекций, д-р Джордж Бривсек В феврале и марте студенты принять участие в двух сессиях Journal Club, в которых критически оценивать ключевые публикации, связанные с актуальным катализом. Это оцениваемый переводный навык, который направлен на развитие навыков презентации, одновременно стимулируя научные дебаты и предоставляя возможность расширить научные знания. На каждой встрече студенты будут работать вместе в группе и делать презентацию об оригинальной работе с высокой отдачей. За этим последует обсуждение / обсуждение под председательством Студенты оцениваются по их способности организовать презентацию в логической манере, использованию четких слайдов в формате PowerPoint, четкости презентации и ее научного содержания. Студенты также начинают свой исследовательский проект в лаборатории своих руководителей в декабре.

    Третий семестр: студенты представляют результаты своих исследований на однодневном устном выступлении MRes, которое состоится в середине сентября. Научно-исследовательские проекты будут завершены, и в начале сентября будет вручена кандидатская диссертация. Оценка проекта основана на письменной диссертации MRes, выступлениях в устной презентации и в естественных условиях, проводимых в присутствии наблюдателей и внешнего оценщика (-ов). Этими внешними оценщиками будут ученые из других учреждений или промышленники, работающие в области катализа. Устные доклады и viva состоятся за несколько дней до заседания экзаменационной комиссии MRes.


    Требования для иностранных студентов в Великобритания

    У университетов Великобритании централизованная система приема студентов - Служба приема в университеты и колледжи (UCAS). Через нее подают заявления как местные, так и иностранные студенты. Перед подачей заявки необходимо зарегистрироваться на сайте UCAS и вам предоставят всю необходимую информацию о системе приема. Для поступления на программы аспирантуры в большинстве случаев нужно напрямую обратиться в университет. Некоторые вузы принимают заявки через Common App (информацию о нем можно найти на сайтах учебных организаций).

    Абитуриенты всех уровней образования могут получить три вида ответов от университетов. Первое, «безусловное предложение» означает, что вы выполнили все требования и можете быть приняты в университет. Второй вариант, «условное предложение», делает ваше поступление возможным, если вы соответствуете некоторым критериям - например, иметь хорошие оценки на выпускных экзаменах. Третий вариант - «неуспешная заявка» означает, что вы, к сожалению, не можете быть приняты в выбранный вами университет.

    Все университеты требуют личное заявление, которое включает причины для получения образования в Великобритании и информацию о личных и академических целях, а также транскрипт оценок из предыдущего места обучения


    Требования программы

    Академические требования: степень 2: 1 или выше по химии, инженерии или смежным предметам. Предполагается скромный уровень знаний в области химии или инженерных знаний.

    Требования к английскому языку: IELTS 6.5 (письменная и устная речь 6).

    Стоимость обучения (2015–2016):

    • Home / EU Полная занятость - £ 10 450
    • За рубежом полный рабочий день - 29 300 фунтов стерлингов
    Похожие программы:
    University of Edinburgh logo
    • Стоимость:
    • Местным: $ 12.2тыс. / Год
    • Иностранцам: $ 26.9тыс. / Год
      Imperial College London logo
      • Стоимость:
      • Местным: $ 11.8тыс. / 2015 cohort
      • Иностранцам: $ 34.7тыс. / 2015 cohort
      • Рейтинг:
      • 2814 StudyQA
      • Длительность:
      • 3 лет
        Imperial College London logo
        • Стоимость:
        • Местным: $ 11.8тыс. / 2015 cohort
        • Иностранцам: $ 34.7тыс. / 2015 cohort
        • Рейтинг:
        • 1753 StudyQA
        • Длительность:
        • 4 лет
          Смотреть все похожие программы (74)

Imperial College London logo
  • Tuition Fee:
  • Local: $ 13.7k / 2015/16 academic year
  • Foreign: $ 38.5k / 2015/16 academic year
  • Languages of instruction:
  • English
  • StudyQA ranking:
  • 1975pts.
  • Duration:
  • 1 year

    Photos of university

    Catalysis underpins a huge range of modern chemical transformations. From the megaton scale production of acetic acid to the polymers we use for plastics to automotive catalytic converters to key steps in pharmaceutical synthesis, the impact of catalysis upon our everyday life is enormous.

    Companies such as BP, INEOS, Sasol, Johnson Matthey, Pfizer, AstraZeneca all have research and development facilities in the UK. Researchers from many of these companies will deliver taught elements of this course, and therefore the students will have the opportunity to learn from and network with future employers first hand.

    The training offered by this course within an internationally-leading institution will open a variety of international career options to our students, either within the framework of a PhD programme or within industry.

    Catalysis has traditionally been divided into homogenous (solution-based), heterogeneous (solid-liquid, solid-gas interface) and (reaction) engineering disciplines. However, this distinction is becoming increasingly blurred so this MRes course aims to provide students with a coherent overview of these areas.

    Students will graduate from the course with a solid knowledge base in the area, they will also be challenged to develop their own ideas on how to focus academic and industrial research to meet the pressing challenges in catalysis.

    The programme is only offered as a full-time, one-year course and leads to the MRes degree. Students begin their lecture programme with core courses spanning the first term (OctoberDecember) and second term (January-March). The taught courses are assessed by exams in January and May. In the second term students also participate in Journal Clubs. In October students choose a 9-month (December-August) multidisciplinary research project. They present a research proposal on the topic of their research in late November and a dissertation and oral presentation in September. In mid-September, a viva is held on the research topic. 

    Year One:
    Term one: Students choose a research project from a list of one-page abstracts (typically around 40) after discussion with academic staff during the first two weeks of the course. Each research project has two supervisors, each from different academic disciplines (typically one from chemistry and one from engineering or materials). Under the guidance of their supervisors, students write a research proposal for submission at the end of term. Students begin their taught lecture programme in this term, which cover both core and optional topics. In total, the students cover 4 core topics (equivalent to 5 courses in length as one counts double) and 2 optional topics. The core topic taught in this term is: • Catalytic reaction engineering with selected lectures (24 in total) from: CE2-04-02 Reaction engineering I (Dr Marcos Millan-Agorio), CE3-02 Reaction Engineering II (Dr Clemens Brechtelsbauer), CE4-20 Pharmaceutical process development (Dr Andreas Kogelbauer, Dr Clemens Brechtelsbauer, Dr Frantisek Stepanek, Mr Richard Escott). This course will count double the credit of the chemistry course and will continue into Term Two. The optional topics are: • 4.I5 Modern applications of inorganic chemistry in industry - 8 lectures, chemical industry staff, organised by Dr Mimi Hii • 4.I10 Green chemistry - 10 lectures, Prof. Charlotte Williams 

    Term Two: The students continue their lecture courses with the core courses: • 4.18 Palladium catalysis in organic synthesis - 8 lectures, Dr Mimi Hii • 4.O10 Catalytic asymmetric synthesis – 8 lectures, Dr. Chris Cordier and Dr Jordi Burés • 4.O23 The kinetics of catalysis - 8 lectures, Dr Jordi Burés Four further optional courses are also available for the students to take: 4.I11 Green solvents - 8 lectures, Prof. Tom Welton (examined by essay – not under exam conditions) 4.I6 Ultrasound and microwaves for chemical synthesis - 8 lectures, Dr Lickiss 4.I7 Inorganic chemistry with computers not chemicals - 8 lectures, Dr Tricia Hunt 3.I3 Inorganic mechanisms and catalysis – 9 lectures, Dr George Britovsek In February and March, the students take part in two Journal Club sessions in which the critically evaluate key publications related to topical catalysis. This is an assessed transferable skills course, which aims to develop presentation skills, whilst encouraging scientific debate, and providing the opportunity to broaden scientific knowledge. At each meeting students will work together in a group and make a presentation about a seminal high impact paper. This will be followed by a chaired discussion/debate about the paper. Students are assessed on their ability to organise the presentation in a logical manner, the use of clear power-point slides, the clarity of the presentation and its scientific content. The students also begin their research project in the laboratory of their supervisors in December.

    Term Three: Students present their research findings at a one-day MRes Oral Presentation day held in midSeptember. The research projects will be finished and the MRes Dissertation will be handed in beginning of September. Project assessment is based on a written MRes Dissertation, performance in the Oral Presentation and in the viva held in the presence of the supervisors and an External Assessor(s). These External Assessors will be academics from other institutions or industrialists working in the area of catalysis. Both the Oral Presentations and viva will take place a few days before the MRes Examination Board meeting. 


    UK requirements for international applications

    Universities in the United Kingdom use a centralized system of undergraduate application: University and College Admissions Service (UCAS). It is used by both domestic and international students. Students have to register on the UCAS website before applying to the university. They will find all the necessary information about the application process on this website. Some graduate courses also require registration on this website, but in most cases students have to apply directly to the university. Some universities also accept undergraduate application through Common App (the information about it could be found on universities' websites).

    Both undergraduate and graduate students may receive three types of responses from the university. The first one, “unconditional offer” means that you already reached all requirements and may be admitted to the university. The second one, “conditional offer” makes your admission possible if you fulfill some criteria – for example, have good grades on final exams. The third one, “unsuccessful application” means that you, unfortunately, could not be admitted to the university of you choice.

    All universities require personal statement, which should include the reasons to study in the UK and the information about personal and professional goals of the student and a transcript, which includes grades received in high school or in the previous university.


    University requirements


    Program requirements

    Academic requirement: 2:1 degree or higher in Chemistry, Engineering or related subject.  A modest level of background chemistry or engineering knowledge is assumed.

    English requirement: IELTS 6.5 (writing and speaking 6).

    Tuition fees (2015–2016):

    • Home/EU Full-time — £10,450
    • Overseas Full-time — £29,300
    Similar programs:
    Imperial College London logo
    • Tuition Fee:
    • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
    • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
    • Ranking:
    • 5621 StudyQA
    • Duration:
    • 4 years
      University of Edinburgh logo
      • Tuition Fee:
      • Domestic students: $ 12.2k / Year
      • International students: $ 27k / Year
        Imperial College London logo
        • Tuition Fee:
        • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
        • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
        • Ranking:
        • 3832 StudyQA
        • Duration:
        • 4 years
          Imperial College London logo
          • Tuition Fee:
          • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
          • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
          • Ranking:
          • 3644 StudyQA
          • Duration:
          • 5 years
            Imperial College London logo
            • Tuition Fee:
            • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
            • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
            • Ranking:
            • 2786 StudyQA
            • Duration:
            • 4 years
              Imperial College London logo
              • Tuition Fee:
              • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
              • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
              • Ranking:
              • 2648 StudyQA
              • Duration:
              • 3 years
                Imperial College London logo
                • Tuition Fee:
                • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
                • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
                • Ranking:
                • 2480 StudyQA
                • Duration:
                • 5 years
                  Imperial College London logo
                  • Tuition Fee:
                  • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
                  • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
                  • Ranking:
                  • 1848 StudyQA
                  • Duration:
                  • 4 years
                    Imperial College London logo
                    • Tuition Fee:
                    • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
                    • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
                    • Ranking:
                    • 1747 StudyQA
                    • Duration:
                    • 5 years
                      Imperial College London logo
                      • Tuition Fee:
                      • Domestic students: $ 11.8k / 2015 cohort
                      • International students: $ 34.9k / 2015 cohort
                      • Ranking:
                      • 1655 StudyQA
                      • Duration:
                      • 4 years
                        See all of the 68 similar programs