Университет Принстон logo
  • Стоимость:
  • Местные: $ 48.9тыс. / Год
  • Иностранцы: $ 48.9тыс. / Год
  • Язык обучения:
  • Английский
  • Дедлайн:
  • 1 декабря 2017
  • StudyQA рейтинг:
  • 1029pts.
  • Длительность:
  • 5 лет

    Фотогалерея / #Princeton

    Химический факультет предоставляет учебные заведения студентам, желающим получить степень доктора философии (Ph.D.). Химический факультет является жизненно важным расширяющимся центром научных исследований с глубокими историческими корнями и готовым понять будущее.

    Размещенные в лаборатории мирового уровня Frick Chemistry, преподаватели и студенты работают на передовых рубежах науки, где сливаются границы между химией и другими дисциплинами. Они проводят совместные, междисциплинарные исследования с потенциалом для производства чего-либо от новых молекул и форм энергии до продвинутых моделей катализа и инновационных материалов. Они также погружены в классическое занятие химией - исследовать состав веществ и исследовать их свойства и реакции.

    Аспирантов приглашают и поощряют проводить индивидуальные программы. Их опыт расширяется благодаря наставничеству преподавателей и доступу к ведущим мировым интеллектуальным и физическим ресурсам. Доктор философии награждается главным образом на основе диссертации, описывающей оригинальные исследования в одной области химии. Аспиранты начинают это исследование в течение первого года работы в аспирантуре; это становится одним из их самых важных действий во второй год, и после этого они посвящают почти все свое время этому. Заключительный публичный устный экзамен состоит из защиты оригинального исследовательского предложения студента, а также защиты диссертации. Основная цель требований состоит в том, чтобы стимулировать интересное обсуждение на основе оригинального запроса и координации информации кандидатом в ряде областей, которые бросают вызов его или ее интересам.

    Магистр наук предлагает выбрать кандидатов, спонсируемых отраслью. Программа может быть завершена на условиях неполного рабочего времени по одному из следующих трех планов:

    <Ол>
  • Два последовательных академических года с очным обучением один семестр каждый год;
  • Два последовательных академических года с неполным обучением оба семестра каждый год;
  • Два последовательных академических года с очным обучением, один семестр и неполное обучение в двух других семестрах в течение двухлетнего периода.
  • <Р> Курсы:

    Студенты обязаны пройти шесть курсов для выпускников (500 уровней) и успешно работать, получив минимум 3,0 балла. Студенты изучают дисциплины по своему выбору: химическая биология, неорганическая химия, катализ и органический синтез, физический эксперимент, теоретическая и вычислительная химия или химия материалов. Выбор курса осуществляется в консультации с преподавателем факультета для наилучшего удовлетворения его потребностей и научных интересов.

    К этому требованию может быть отнесено до двух курсов последипломного образования из предыдущего учебного заведения при условии, что в Принстоне будет предложен эквивалентный курс. Директор аспирантуры дает такое одобрение на индивидуальной основе после консультации с соответствующим факультетом.

    Предварительные общие требования:

    Ведомственные квалификационные экзамены

    Квалификационные экзамены для поступающих студентов предлагаются в областях биохимии, химической физики, неорганической химии, органической химии и физической химии осенью их первого года обучения. Ожидается, что аспиранты сдают экзамен по трем из этих областей или завершают курсовую работу в течение первого года обучения, чтобы компенсировать любые недостатки.

    Общий экзамен:

    Общий экзамен состоит из двух письменных предложений и устной защиты каждого студента. Первое предложение основано на выбранной студентом области исследования диссертации. Второй состоит из независимого исследовательского предложения, которое входит в общую область исследований студента, но не является частью исследования диссертации студента. Эти предложения рассматриваются вместе с обзором общей успеваемости и успеваемости студента. Из студентов, которые сдают общий экзамен, только те, кто проявил некоторую степень различия в своей работе, поступают в докторантуру.

    Квалификация для М.А.:

    Степень магистра искусств (M.A.) обычно является второстепенной степенью на пути к полному Ph.D. кандидатура и зарабатывается после того, как студент успешно завершает общий экзамен. Он также может быть присужден студентам, которые по разным причинам покидают кандидатскую диссертацию. программа, при условии, что это требование было выполнено.

    <Р> Обучение:

    Студенты обязаны преподавать не менее шести часов в неделю в течение одного семестра; это требование чаще всего выполняется в течение второго года зачисления.

    Требования к пост-генералам:

    Третий год семинара

    На третьем году обучения студенты представляют тридцатиминутный семинар, посвященный прогрессу их исследований. Для углубления понимания различных химических дисциплин учащиеся третьего курса обязаны посещать все семинары.

    Предложение вне поля

    Перед защитой диссертации на заключительном устном выступлении студент должен создать оригинальное исследовательское предложение, не имеющее прямого отношения к диссертационному исследованию, и защитить это предложение в консультативном комитете. Настоятельно рекомендуется, чтобы это было сделано задолго до FPO, чтобы оно не вступало в противоречие с дипломной работой,

    Предложение об исследовании «вне поля» должно быть написано и распространено (в печатном виде) среди консультативного комитета по крайней мере за две недели до устной даты презентации. Студент несет ответственность за организацию встречи членов комиссии для этого устного экзамена и информирование администратора выпускника до согласованной даты. Комитет записывает оценку за письменное предложение и его устную защиту. Оценка по шкале от Отлично до Неудачно.

    Диссертация и ФПО:

    Доктор философии присуждается после того, как докторская диссертация кандидата была принята, а итоговый публичный устный экзамен выдержан.


    Требования для иностранных студентов в США

    Каждый университет в Соединенных Штатах Америки устанавливает собственные стандарты приема, таким образом, не существует единых критериев для всех студентов, и только университет может решить, какие абитуриенты соответствуют требованиям, а какие - нет. Плата за каждую заявку составляет от $35 to $100.  

    После выбора университетов, в которые вы хотите подать документы стоит связаться с ними для подачи заявок и получения дополнительной информации о поступлении для иностранных студентов. Кроме того, при выборе программ магистратуры и докторантуры стоит обратить особое внимание на требования к поступающим. Некоторые программы требуют, чтобы вы отправили заявку на их факультет.

    Решение о зачислении принимается на основании академической успеваемости абитуриента и результатах различных тестов, таких как TOEFL, SAT или ACT (для программ бакалавриата) и GRE или GMAT (для программ магистратуры). Оно также зависит от академических результатов и мотивации.


    Требования программы

    • Плата за участие: 90 долларов США
    • Заявление об академической цели
    • Резюме / биографические данные
    • Рекомендательные письма
    • Стенограммы
    • Оценки за осенний семестр
    • Предварительные тесты
    • Тесты по английскому языку
    • GRE: требуется общий тест и предметный тест в области химии или подплана.
    • Дополнительные ведомственные требования:
    • Ph.D. Заявители должны выбрать подплан при подаче заявки.

    Для доктора философии кандидаты, плата за обучение и плата за обучение в течение обычного периода зачисления студента полностью предоставляются за счет финансовой поддержки студента-аспиранта в виде поддержки за счет стипендий, ассистентов или внешних источников.

    Годовая сумма стипендии, предоставляемая доктору философии. Кандидаты во время их регулярного зачисления предназначены для поддержки одного аспиранта на основе предполагаемых затрат. Студентам магистратуры или студентам с супругами и / или иждивенцами могут потребоваться дополнительные ресурсы для покрытия расходов на проживание

    Похожие программы:

Princeton University logo
  • Tuition Fee:
  • $ 48.9k
  • Languages of instruction:
  • English
  • StudyQA ranking:
  • 681pts.
  • Duration:
  • 5 years

    Photos of university / #princeton_university

    The Department of Chemistry provides facilities for students intending to work toward the degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.).  The Department of Chemistry is a vital, expanding hub of scientific inquiry with deep historic roots and a ready grasp on the future.

    Housed in the world-class Frick Chemistry Laboratory, faculty and students work at the frontiers of science where the lines between chemistry and other disciplines merge. They conduct collaborative, interdisciplinary research with the potential to produce anything from new molecules and forms of energy to advanced models of catalysis and innovative materials. They also are immersed in the classic pursuit of chemistry -- to examine the composition of substances and investigate their properties and reactions.

    Graduate students are invited and encouraged to pursue individualized programs. Their experience is enhanced by strong faculty mentoring and access to world-leading intellectual and physical resources. The Ph.D. is awarded primarily on the basis of a thesis describing original research in one area of chemistry. Graduate students begin this research during their first year of graduate work; it becomes one of their most important activities in the second year, and thereafter they devote almost all of their time to it. The final public oral examination consists of the defense of a student’s original research proposal as well as a defense of the thesis dissertation. The chief objective of the requirements are to stimulate interesting discussion based upon original inquiry and coordination of information by the candidate in a number of fields that challenge his or her interest.

    A Master of Science is offered to select industry-sponsored candidates.  The program may be completed on a part-time basis under one of the following three plans:

    1. Two consecutive academic years with full-time study one term each year;
    2. Two consecutive academic years with half-time study both terms of each year;
    3. Two consecutive academic years with full-time study one term of one year and half-time study in two other terms during the two-year period.

    ​Courses:

    Students are required to take six graduate-level (500-level) courses and to perform satisfactorily, obtaining a minimum of a 3.0 average. Students pursue study in the subdiscipline of their choosing: chemical biology, inorganic chemistry, catalysis and organic synthesis, physical experimental, theoretical and computational, or materials chemistry.  Course selections are made in consultation with their faculty adviser to best meet their needs and research interests.

    Up to two graduate courses from a prior institution may be counted toward this requirement, provided an equivalent course is offered at Princeton.  The director of graduate studies grants such approval on an individual basis after consulting with the appropriate faculty.

    Pre-Generals Requirements(s):

    Departmental qualifying examinations

    Qualifying examinations for incoming students are offered in the fields of biochemistry, chemical physics, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry and physical chemistry in the fall of their first year. Graduate students are expected to pass an examination in three of these fields or to complete course work during their first year of study in order to compensate for any deficiencies.

    General Exam:

    The general examination consists of two written proposals and the student’s oral defense of each.  The first proposal is based on the student’s chosen area of thesis research. The second consists of an independent research proposal that is in the student’s general area of research but which is not a part of the student’s thesis research.   These proposals are considered together with a review of the student’s overall academic record and research progress. Of students who pass the general examination, only those who have shown some degree of distinction in their work proceed toward the doctorate.

    Qualifying for the M.A.:

    The Master of Arts (M.A.) degree is normally an incidental degree on the way to full Ph.D. candidacy and is earned after a student successfully completes the general examination. It may also be awarded to students who, for various reasons, leave the Ph.D. program, provided that this requirement has been met.

    Teaching:

    Students are required to teach at least six contact hours per week for one term; this requirement is most often fulfilled during the second year of enrollment.

    Post-Generals Requirement(s):

    Third-Year Seminar

    In the third year of study, students present a thirty-minute seminar on their research progress.  To foster understanding of the different chemical disciplines, third year students are required to attend all seminars.

    Out-of-Field Proposal

    Prior to the defense of the thesis at the Final Public Oral, the student must generate an original research proposal, not directly related to the thesis research, and defend the proposal before the advisory committee. It is strongly recommended that this be done well before the FPO so that it does not conflict with thesis work,

    The “out-of-field” research proposal must be written and circulated (via hard copy) among the advisory committee at least two weeks before the oral presentation date. The student is responsible for organizing the committee members to meet for this oral exam and informing the Graduate Administrator prior to the date agreed upon. The committee records a grade for the written proposal and its oral defense. Grading is on a scale from Excellent to Fail.

    Dissertation and FPO:

    The Ph.D. is awarded after the candidate’s doctoral dissertation has been accepted and the final public oral examination sustained.


    USA requirements for international students

    Each university in the Unites States of America sets its own admission standards so there isn't the same criteria for all the students and the university can decide which applicants meet those standards. The fee for each application is between $35 to $100. 

    After the selections of the universities you want to attend, the best of all would be to contact each university for an application form and more admission information for the international students. Moreover, for a graduate or postgraduate program it's necessary to verify the admission requirements. Some programs require that you send your application directly to their department. 

    Admissions decisions are based on students's academic record and different test scores, such as TOEFL, the SAT or ACT (for undergraduate programs) and GRE or GMAT (for graduate programs). Admission decision is based on your academic results and motivation.


    Program requirements

    • Application Fee: $90
    • Statement of Academic Purpose
    • Resume/Curriculum Vitae
    • Recommendation Letters
    • Transcripts
    • Fall Semester Grades
    • Prerequisite Tests
    • English Language Tests
    • GRE : General test and subject test in chemistry or subplan field required.
    • Additional Departmental Requirements: 
    • Ph.D. applicants are required to select a subplan when applying.

    For Ph.D. candidates, tuition and fees during a student’s regular period of enrollment are provided in full from a student’s graduate student financial support, in the form of tuition support from fellowships, assistantships, or external sources.

    The annual stipend amount provided to Ph.D. candidates during their regular enrollment is intended to support a single graduate student based on estimated costs. Master’s students or students with spouses and/or dependents may require additional resources to support their living expenses 

    Similar programs:
    Dartmouth College logo
    • Tuition Fee:
    • $ 46.8k / annual
    • Language:
    • English
    • Ranking:
    • 1351 StudyQA
    • Duration:
    • 5 years
      University of Minnesota - Crookston logo
      • Tuition Fee:
      • International students: $ 11.7k / Year
      • Language:
      • English
        Dartmouth College logo
        • Tuition Fee:
        • $ 46.8k / annual
        • Language:
        • English
        • Ranking:
        • 878 StudyQA
        • Duration:
        • 1 years
          Dartmouth College logo
          • Tuition Fee:
          • $ 46.8k / annual
          • Language:
          • English
          • Ranking:
          • 803 StudyQA
          • Duration:
          • 4 years
            Suffolk University logo
            • Tuition Fee:
            • International students: $ 16.3k / Semester
            • Language:
            • English
              University of Maryland at College Park logo
              • Tuition Fee:
              • Domestic students: $ 17.2k / Year
              • International students: $ 35.2k / Year
              • Language:
              • English
                Suffolk University logo
                • Tuition Fee:
                • International students: $ 16.3k / Semester
                • Language:
                • English
                  See all of the 29 similar programs